Spinning the ugliest yarn… On purpose!

Standard

I love art yarns. I love looking at them, feeling them and spinning them myself! In the year I have been spinning, my forays with art yarn have been mild, beginning with yarn that became a big wool toque. I spun the colours together with no reason and it wasn’t until I knit with it that I realised how great it was.

To date, the Art Yarn I spun up using “Franklin” Art batt from Neauveau Fiber Arts, corriedale fleece from Wooly Wool of the West and some gold filament from my Mum-in-law, is my very favourite. I spun the art batt into a thick & thin single with lots of lumps and chunks, I then plied it with coils onto a single of combed corriedale top and to bind it all together I spun it loosely with gold filament. This really made all the wonderful colours and sparkles from the art batt pop!

Successfully making a skein of funky, colourful yarn can only serve as a gateway to even crazier things! Therefore, I started my newest art yarn with a collection of rolags from leftovers off my comb & hackle.

The pile consists of primarily corriedale, with splashes of merino, cotswold, mohair and synthetics. And yes, I plan on spinning the WHOLE pile of it! As for the wheel, I am using my Mum-in-law’s beautiful wheel.

She is a single-treadle, bobbin driven, large orifice wheel and I especially love her for plying! Notice the size of the bobbin? Yeah, they could be dumbbells for King Kong!

So last night I got into my spinning chair, turned on the newest episode of RuPaul’s Drag Race and started treadling. After nearly 2 hours of Drag Queens and Futurama, I ended up with this:

Reds, yellows, and pinks! Oh my! And sadly, it isn’t half as colourful as the frocks worn by the Drag Queens… Sigh.

It is spinning beautifully, with some lumpy-bumpy bits and spots with sparkle. Currently, the plan is to spin up that pile into sock-ish weight singles and then ply them together using different techniques. I’m hoping to get a great big skein on nonsensical, squishy yarn to amuse and bewilder the masses.

Please check back over the next week to help me name the skein!

Leave a Reply

