Easter Crafting Love

Standard

I hope everyone had a lovely Easter Weekend!  I feel doubly-lucky as I was able to hop a flight and go spend the weekend with Shaz and her family, then fly home in time for a wonderful Easter lunch with my family.

While in Kamloops we (surprise, surprise) crafted like it was going out of style! Because it was going to be a short holiday for me, I did not bring my full compliment of spindles.  On the average long weekend trip, I bring 1 spindle/day, plus one.  For this trip, I only packed one spindle that was working on, spinning a merino braid purchased at Wool Revival earlier in the week.

Merino Roving on Airplane! spindle

I had planned on spinning both of the braids in the photo (one ripped into strips) and then ply them together into a sport-weight 2-ply, but once I got close to finishing the first braid Shaz declared that it was her yarn.  We were able to give it a bath  and hang it to dry.  I am very happy with the results!

Laceweight single

We were also able to visit a wonderful yarn store, Electrictree Yarns! Full of yarn roving, spinning wheels and a great sit down area, I was happily able to buy linen roving, cashmere down, silk hankies and beautifully dyed BFL roving from Caroline’s (the owner) collection.  I was also very happy to stay in my fibre budget for the trip!

I love LYS’s!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Crafting in the Mountains | AFHandcrafts.com

Leave a Reply

